Type something to search...
A player character standing over a seated villager named Jack the Beggar, with an on-screen panel saying he likes the player because their reputation is virtuous

Which Games Actually Have AI NPCs? What You Can Play in September 2026

Only a handful of games let you talk to an AI NPC in September 2026. What ships, what is still a beta or demo, and why most of it needs an 8GB RTX card.

Yahi Rakh10 Sep, 202614 min read
A player character standing over a seated villager named Jack the Beggar, with an on-screen panel saying he likes the player because their reputation is virtuous

Three years after Nvidia first showed a talking ramen-shop owner, you can hold an unscripted conversation with an NPC in a small number of major released games. In September 2026 that means inZOI, NARAKA: BLADEPOINT's mobile PC version, Fortnite creator islands and Where Winds Meet. The rest of what you've seen is in beta, promised for later, or an internal prototype.

The headlines tend to blur those categories together. A studio demo at GDC and a feature you can switch on tonight get the same "AI NPCs are here" framing. This piece sorts them, then covers what each approach asks of your hardware and what has already gone wrong in public.

Note

Key Takeaways

  • Four major released games let the public talk to generative AI characters today: inZOI, NARAKA: BLADEPOINT Mobile PC Version, Fortnite (creator islands) and Where Winds Meet.
  • PUBG Ally ran as a two-week beta from June 17, 2026. KRAFTON has not announced a full release date.
  • Nvidia's ACE features run locally and only on GeForce RTX cards. PUBG Ally's floor is an RTX GPU with 8GB of VRAM.
  • Fortnite's system runs in the cloud on Google's Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite and ElevenLabs voices, so it needs no special GPU. It does need a connection, and every reply costs someone money.
  • The failures so far have come from players, not the models alone: jailbreaking Darth Vader into swearing, and talking Where Winds Meet NPCs into marking quests complete.

The Short List: What Is Actually Playable

Four major released games let ordinary players talk to a generative AI character, and two of them depend on an Nvidia RTX graphics card. The table separates shipped features from betas, announcements and demos, since those labels matter more than any trailer.

#Game or projectStatus (Sept 2026)Where the AI runsWhat you need
1inZOI (Smart Zoi)Shipped, early access since March 2025On your GPUGeForce RTX 3060 8GB minimum
2NARAKA: BLADEPOINT Mobile PC VersionShipped March 27, 2025On your GPUGeForce RTX card
3Fortnite LLM conversationsShipped on creator islandsCloud (Google, ElevenLabs)Any platform, English only
4Where Winds MeetShipped late 2025Not disclosedThe game itself
5PUBG Ally (Ally Duo)Two-week beta, June 2026On your GPURTX card with 8GB VRAM
6Aniimo ACE companionsAnnounced for early 2027On your GPURTX card (details pending)
7Ubisoft TeammatesInternal prototypeNot disclosedNot available
8Sony's AI AloyLeaked prototypeNot disclosed (GPT-4, Llama 3)Not available

Rows 5 to 8 are where most confusion comes from. They get covered as though they are products, and none of them can be bought.

Shipped: The Four You Can Try Today

The shipped features fall into two groups: Nvidia ACE running locally on RTX cards, and cloud services that hand dialogue to a large language model on someone else's servers. Both groups have been live since 2025.

inZOI's Smart Zoi

KRAFTON's life sim launched in early access on March 28, 2025 with Smart Zoi, one day after NARAKA became the first game to ship Nvidia's ACE autonomous characters. Nvidia says each Smart Zoi runs on a Mistral NeMo Minitron small language model with 0.5 billion parameters, on your GPU, so townsfolk decide what to do next from their own personality and circumstances.

It is an opt-in setting, and KRAFTON published four hardware tiers for it: Minimum, Medium, Recommended and High. Minimum is an RTX 3060 with 8GB and 12GB of system RAM, Recommended is an RTX 5070 or 4070 Super with 12GB and 16GB of RAM, and the top High tier asks for an RTX 5070 Ti with 16GB and 32GB of RAM, per PC Guide's compilation of KRAFTON's Steam notice. Every tier names a GeForce RTX card, because ACE only runs on Nvidia hardware. AMD and Intel graphics cards can't enable it.

NARAKA: BLADEPOINT's AI teammate

NetEase added an on-device, ACE-powered AI teammate to NARAKA: BLADEPOINT Mobile PC Version on March 27, 2025. Nvidia describes it joining your party in Free Training, fetching items you ask for, swapping gear and suggesting skills. Like Smart Zoi, it is GPU-accelerated on GeForce RTX cards only.

The scope is narrow. It lives in a practice mode. But that is the point: an unpredictable teammate stays out of ranked matches where it could decide a result.

Fortnite: Darth Vader, then creator islands

Fortnite puts AI NPCs in front of the biggest audience of any game here, and it went the other way on architecture. On May 16, 2025 Epic added a recruitable Darth Vader who answered players' voice chat, with dialogue from Google's Gemini 2.0 Flash and a recreation of James Earl Jones's voice from ElevenLabs' Flash v2.5, as Droid Life reported at launch.

Epic then turned it into a creator tool. The v40.20 update on April 16, 2026 added "conversations" to Unreal Editor for Fortnite as an experimental feature, letting island makers write a character's personality in a short prompt. Epic's documentation says it now runs on Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite with ElevenLabs Eleven v3, answers only in English, does not store player audio, and sits behind parental controls. Islands using it became publishable on July 30, 2026, when Epic's v41.30 release notes announced that conversations had exited Experimental. Beebom reported that 36 Fortnite characters, including Fishstick, got AI voices for creator islands at the same time.

Where Winds Meet

NetEase and Everstone Studio's wuxia RPG shipped with LLM chatbot NPCs you type to. In a December 2025 report, Kotaku judged the tech less sophisticated than something like ChatGPT, and the studio has not said which model powers it or where it runs.

It is also the clearest case of what happens when players are handed a free-text box, covered in the problems section below.

In Beta: PUBG Ally

PUBG Ally is the most ambitious on-device AI character tested in public so far, and it is still a beta with no release date. The Ally Duo arcade mode ran for two weeks from June 17, 2026, pairing each player with an AI squadmate named Ella on the Sanhok map.

The engineering is worth understanding, because it is the template other ACE games will copy. Nvidia's GeForce post lists three models running on the player's RTX card: Nvidia's Parakeet for speech recognition, the 2-billion-parameter Mistral-NeMo-Minitron language model, and KRAFTON's own text-to-speech. Nothing goes to a server, and the stated requirement is an RTX GPU with at least 8GB of VRAM.

In Nvidia's June 25, 2026 technical Q&A, KRAFTON explained that a conventional behaviour tree still handles movement, aiming and split-second combat at the game's tick rate. The language model only handles the slower decisions: what to loot, where to go, what to say. That split is why Ella does not stall mid-firefight while "thinking". It also means the AI you talk to is not the AI pulling the trigger.

KRAFTON showed its AI teammates again at Gamescom 2026 in August, according to Sportskeeda's roundup of Nvidia's announcements. It still hasn't said when, or whether, Ally Duo becomes a permanent mode.

Announced, Not Released

Several ACE games have dates or windows but no playable AI yet, and the newest pushes the feature past its own launch day. Treat everything in this section as a promise until it ships.

Aniimo. At Gamescom 2026 Nvidia announced ACE for this creature-catching RPG. You will be able to talk to your creatures, teach them skills and send them to gather resources by voice, driven by a fine-tuned Nemotron small language model running on your GPU. The game itself launches on September 16, 2026, well before the feature: Nvidia lists the ACE update for early 2027.

Black Vultures: Prey of Greed. Wemade's THISMEANSWAR studio is building an AI companion called Viper with ACE speech and language models. It is in development with no date.

Dead Meat and MIR5. Nvidia's January 2025 ACE post named Meaning Machine's murder-mystery interrogation game Dead Meat, running its dialogue locally on RTX 50 series cards, and MIR5's bosses that learn from player tactics. As of September 2026, Dead Meat's Steam page still reads "Coming soon".

Demos and Prototypes Mistaken for Games

The most widely shared AI NPC clips come from stage demos and internal prototypes that were never offered for sale. They tell you where studios are experimenting. They don't tell you what you'll play soon.

Nvidia's Kairos ramen shop (2023)

The demo that launched ACE at Computex 2023: a spoken conversation with Jin, a ramen-shop owner, built with the startup Convai in Unreal Engine 5. It was a tech demo, not a game.

Ubisoft Teammates (November 2025)

A playable research FPS with an AI assistant, Jaspar, and two squadmates, Pablo and Sofia, who respond to spoken orders. Ubisoft calls it an experiment and ran a closed test with a few hundred players.

Sony's AI Aloy (leaked March 2025)

An internal PlayStation video, reported by The Verge, showed Horizon's Aloy answering questions using OpenAI's Whisper, GPT-4 and Llama 3, with Sony's own voice synthesis. Sony has not tied it to any game.

Ubisoft's framing for Teammates is the most candid summary of where the industry sits. Its developers describe building "fences that let NPCs improvise within the world but stay within the boundaries of the lore", which is an admission that unfenced improvisation is the problem still being solved.

Not every big RPG is heading this way, either. Playground is promising more than 1,000 handcrafted, individually voiced NPCs in Fable, a bet on authored characters over generated ones. For how studios are using generative AI behind the scenes rather than in dialogue, see our companion piece on generative AI in game development.

What Hardware Do AI NPCs Need?

On-device AI NPCs need a GeForce RTX graphics card, and in practice one with at least 8GB of video memory shared between the game and the model. Cloud-based NPCs need no special hardware at all.

Every shipped or announced ACE feature is RTX-only. That rules out AMD Radeon and Intel Arc cards, every console, and handhelds. The models also run on the GPU, not on the neural processing units being sold in "AI PCs", which is why an NPU spec sheet tells you nothing here. Our explainer on whether an NPU matters for gaming covers that gap.

VRAM is the real constraint. The language model, speech models and the game's textures all compete for the same memory. Nvidia's January 2025 post says its 2-billion-parameter Minitron model fits in about 1.5GB of VRAM, and that is 1.5GB the game can no longer use for textures. On an 8GB card that is already near its limit at 1440p, something has to give. Our guides to how much VRAM you need for gaming and whether 12GB is enough at 1440p explain why 8GB is already tight before an AI model moves in.

One number is missing from everything published so far: the frame-rate cost. Nvidia's PUBG Ally Q&A describes fitting the models into limited VRAM alongside the game but gives no FPS figure, and neither KRAFTON nor NetEase has published one. Nobody outside those studios knows yet. Until someone benchmarks it, treat any claim that these features are "free" as unproven.

#FeatureMinimum GPURecommended GPU
1inZOI Smart ZoiRTX 3060 8GB, 12GB RAMRTX 5070 or 4070 Super 12GB, 16GB RAM
2PUBG Ally betaRTX GPU with 8GB VRAMNot published by Nvidia
3Fortnite conversationsNone (cloud)None (cloud)

If you are buying a card partly for these features, 12GB is the sensible floor, and our budget GPU comparison weighs the RTX 5060 Ti against AMD's alternative on exactly that point. For the wider question of running language models on a gaming PC, see how much VRAM local AI models need.

On-Device vs Cloud: What You Are Trading

On-device AI NPCs give up VRAM and hardware reach in exchange for fast, private replies, while cloud NPCs accept a server bill and network delay so they run on anything.

KRAFTON's stated reason for running PUBG Ally locally was "response at the speed of gameplay": no round trip to a data centre while bullets are flying. The cost is that only RTX owners get the feature, and the model has to be small. A 2-billion-parameter model is a fraction of the size of the cloud models behind Fortnite, which is why ACE characters are scoped to specific jobs.

Cloud NPCs work on a phone or a console, and they use much larger models. They also add a network trip to every reply. During the experimental phase Epic said response times were slower than it wanted for release, according to Wccftech. Every line of dialogue also costs money at the model provider, and Wccftech noted that Epic appeared to be absorbing that cost during testing. If voice replies feel sluggish on a good connection, the delay may be on your side of the router, which our guide to lag with low ping helps rule out.

Privacy differs too. Epic says Fortnite sends player voice to Gemini to generate replies but does not store it or use it for training. With ACE, speech recognition happens on your own card and nothing leaves the PC.

The Problems Nobody Has Solved

The two most visible launches of chatty NPCs, Fortnite's Darth Vader and Where Winds Meet, were both bent out of shape by players soon after release. The fixes so far are patches, not solutions, and three problems keep coming back.

Players talk the AI out of its rules. By the day after Darth Vader's launch, Fox News was reporting that players had him swearing and repeating a slur, and Epic said it had issued a hotfix to block it. In Where Winds Meet, Kotaku reported players pushing NPCs to complete quests improperly by repeating the NPC's own statements back as questions, and one NPC being drawn into explicit roleplay. Free text is an attack surface. Quest logic that trusts the model's judgement can be argued with, and players will argue.

Voice rights. SAG-AFTRA filed an unfair labor practice charge against Epic's subsidiary Llama Productions in May 2025, arguing that AI-generated Vader dialogue replaced union work without bargaining. James Earl Jones's estate had approved the use, but that did not settle the union's complaint. For the 2026 creator-island voices, Epic says it used performances captured from independent professional actors specifically for that purpose. Any studio using synthetic voices for a named performer inherits the same question. The same tension showed up in reaction to Tomb Raider: Legacy of Atlantis and its generative AI disclosure.

Testing something that never answers the same way twice. KRAFTON named this directly in Nvidia's Q&A: non-deterministic output in a competitive multiplayer game is hard to QA. That is one reason both shipped ACE teammates are confined to practice modes, arcade modes or single-player sims.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which games have AI NPCs you can talk to right now?

As of September 2026: inZOI (Smart Zoi), NARAKA: BLADEPOINT Mobile PC Version (AI teammate), Fortnite creator islands built with LLM conversations, and Where Winds Meet. PUBG Ally ran as a two-week beta in June 2026 and is not currently a permanent mode.

Do AI NPCs work on AMD graphics cards?

Nvidia ACE-based NPCs do not work on AMD cards, because inZOI's Smart Zoi, NARAKA's AI teammate and PUBG Ally all require a GeForce RTX GPU. Cloud-based systems such as Fortnite's conversations don't depend on your GPU, so they work on any hardware that runs the game.

How much VRAM does an AI NPC use?

A small on-device NPC model uses roughly 1.5GB of VRAM, going by Nvidia's figure for its 2-billion-parameter Minitron model. PUBG Ally's beta required an RTX card with at least 8GB in total. Speech recognition and voice models add to that, and all of it competes with the game's own textures.

Are AI NPCs on consoles?

AI NPCs reach consoles only through cloud systems such as Fortnite's LLM conversations, which generate replies on Google's servers rather than on the console itself. Nvidia's on-device ACE features are PC-only because they need a GeForce RTX GPU.

Is Ubisoft's Teammates a real game?

Ubisoft's Teammates is not a released game. Ubisoft describes it as a playable generative AI research project. It went through a closed test with a few hundred players in late 2025, and Ubisoft has not announced a release or said which game might use the technology.

The Bottom Line

AI NPCs have moved from stage demos into a handful of real games, but on narrow terms. The local versions are small models doing specific jobs on RTX hardware, usually outside ranked play. The cloud versions reach everyone and are still being patched after players find new ways to argue with them.

If you own an RTX card with 8GB or more, inZOI and NARAKA let you try the on-device approach today. If you don't, Fortnite islands are the easiest way to try the cloud approach. Anything else you have seen in a trailer is a promise, and the next one on the calendar, Aniimo's companions, isn't due until early 2027.

Game and demo imagery courtesy of Playground Games, Xbox Game Studios, KRAFTON, NVIDIA, Ubisoft, NetEase and Epic Games, used for editorial coverage.

Sources

Share